Skip to content

My First Sewing Project

January 25, 2013

Almost like everyone.. we’ve at some point in our lives taken a home economics class in highschool.  My grandma and my aunt sewed when I was younger, my mom was a knitter (hence me picking up knitting).  However, I never took an interest in sewing at all.  My first experience in sewing was back in grade 8.  When you’re 13, you don’t really want to learn how to sew, but I think I made a stuffed dog and a pillow.  I over stuffed my dog, so it was hard as a rock, and i made his neck to skinny, so his head always just flopped over.. it wasn’t the greatest.  I have no idea where it is now.  I probably donated at some point in my life hoping some child may enjoy it.. or the charity just threw it in the garbage pile.

In the past year, I’ve really wanted to learn how to sew!  I have no idea why, actually I do.  A fellow crafter started showing me quilting, and was teaching me how to quilt, and in order to make a quilt, I needed to learn how to sew.  I never did finish that quilt, she stopped crafting and I stopped having access to a sewing machine.. until NOW!

All I wanted for my birthday this year was a SEWING MACHINE and I got one!  My WONDERFUL husband got the *hint*, when I told him…..”all I want this year is a sewing machine. I don’t need anything else or want anything else….so please get me a sewing machine!” LOL

Well when I got my machine I didn’t know what to do with it! More like, I didn’t have a clue where to start!  So I thought I’d take a class… Did you know that sewing classes are VERY expensive? And there aren’t that many options in Vancouver either.. Anywho.. I found a place that was reasonable and LOOKIE WHAT I MADE! a double sided bag! 😀

IMG_2380

IMG_2381

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

