Skip to content

Baby Duck….what an inspiration

January 17, 2011

Happy Monday everyone!

I got a call from my cousin this afternoon asking if I could make her a baby card.  Of course I would! and I knew exactly what I wanted to make!  I saw a tutorial from Marlene Peter’s Blog on how to make a super cute punch duck.  I was missing one punch but of course we’re creative, so I just substituted one of punches I didn’t have.  I wanted to participate in a couple of challenges and what do you know? I found a colour challenge from Create with Connie and Mary – CCMC 133 AND a sketch challenge from Stampin 411′ SSC 186.  So thanks to these great sources of inspiration……..I was able to make a pretty cute card..if i do say so myself…

 

 

HERE’S MY CARD! I’m actually really proud of it! and how cute it turned out!

Isn’t it adorable??? I love it! hehe Great colors for a baby card! and Perfect layout!

On marlene’s blog she used a large word window punch for the body, but I don’t have that punch, so I just used another circle punch.  I also make my duck smaller than hers because I needed a smaller duck lol. I also cased her ribbon on the bottom of the duck as water.  It adds great texture and dimensions to the card!

Ribbons!!  they’re so great!  I actually won this ribbon at one of my Demonstrator’s meeting! :)  and I finally have the chance to use it!  I don’t generally use a lot of yellowish tones with my card…  but I think this one turned out FANTASTIC! :)

Happy Stampin’ Everyone!

 

18 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2011 11:51 pm

    This is absolutely adorable. Great job on the little duck and love both ribbons! Thanks for playing at Create with Connie & Mary!

  2. January 18, 2011 1:30 am

    This is stunning! I really love the punched ducky! Thanks so much for playing along with Stamping 411

  3. January 18, 2011 11:43 am

    OMG this is THE cutest card!!! Love that little ducky. Thanks for playing along this week :)

  4. January 18, 2011 1:18 pm

    That is the cutest duck!

  5. January 18, 2011 3:57 pm

    This is so SUPER CUTE!!! I love it! What a perfect baby card! I just love that duck! Thanks for playing the challenge at Create with Connie and Mary!

  6. January 18, 2011 9:09 pm

    This is totally adorable!!

  7. January 19, 2011 1:09 pm

    This is totally ADORABLE…everything about it! Thanks for playing along this week in the Create with Connie and Mary Thursday Challenge!

  8. January 19, 2011 11:17 pm

    So darling! I love the ducky! Great job! Thanks for playing along with us on Create with Connie and Mary!

  9. January 20, 2011 6:21 pm

    So stinkin’ cute! The ruffled ribbon looks like water!

  10. January 20, 2011 7:19 pm

    I agree with all of the others- this is so cute! Love the little ducky and the ruffled ribbon does look like water! Thanks for the inspiration and congrats on your card being chosen as one of the top three picks at Create with Connie and Mary!

  11. January 20, 2011 8:07 pm

    You did a wonderful job! I’m glad you had to substitute another punch, now I can make it too! TFS!

  12. January 21, 2011 9:19 pm

    Darling little duck — too cute! Great job with the sketch. Thanks for playing along with the Stamping 411 Operators this week! Blessings, Gretchen

  13. January 21, 2011 9:58 pm

    I just had a baby boy in December and I am in total baby mode. I LOVE this card! The use of the colors is great and the ducky is so cute! TFS!!

  14. January 22, 2011 3:40 am

    LOVE IT! Great card! Thanks for playing the Create with Connie & Mary Challenge.

  15. January 23, 2011 5:26 pm

    Sylvia… your work is AMAZING! I’m really looking forward to meeting you in the near future!
    Love Ange

  16. March 7, 2012 3:11 am

    Such a sweet card!

    Team Craftwell
    blog.craftwellusa.com

  17. Sebrina permalink
    February 8, 2013 10:14 am

    Would you be willing to email me the dimensions you used for your duck baby card. It’s mostly just the duck size I’m curious about. I need to make a couple if baby cards and want to case this one. It’s absolutely adorable. Thanks!

    • February 8, 2013 10:17 am

      Hi Serbrina,

      I’ve given this card away a long time ago. But the card dimensions are 4.25 inch x 5.5inch. in regards to how big your duck is suppose to be, it’s up to the size of your punches. I put a link on where I got the duck tutorial from on the blog. so you’ll want to visit Marlene’s website.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 273 other followers

